Manage User Access

If you ever come into a situation where you will need to include more users in your Bizzflow project, these are steps and recommendations for best practices in collaboration.

The method you would probably think about first is sharing your bizzflow user’s password with whoever you want to share your project with. Please, don’t do that. By sharing your Bizzflow credentials, you completely loose control of who has access to your project, who does what (audit) and using sandboxes will become impossible.

Create User

Manage access to Airflow UI, Sandbox and Storage

The clean way of doing that is creating a new user in your Airflow UI. Bizzflow will automatically create sandbox console access for any user that exists in Airflow.

In your Airflow UI, click Security and then List Users. There is a plus + button in the topleft corner of the form that appears in the page. Fill in your new user’s information.

If you want the user to be able to “do anything”, feel free to assign him Admin role. See this article official Apache Airflow documentation for more information on what the roles mean.

Manage access to the project’s repository

If you want the user to be able to create transformations, setup extractor configurations and all other actions described in Project Reference, you need to make sure they have access to your project’s repository.

This process differs from one git host to other. These are the guides for the most commonly used git hosts:

Remove User

In order to completely remove a user, these are the steps you should take.

Remove user from Airflow UI, Sandbox and Storage

In Airflow UI click Security and List Users. Click eraser icon next to the user you would like to remove and confirm the action.

This does not remove user’s sandbox and their database user from the warehouse, though. This cannot be achieved without direct access to the warehouse, for now. The recommended way is deleting the sandbox kex using Storage Console.

Remove user from the project’s repository

Again, this differs from provider to provider. Follow your provider’s guide to remove the user from your repository.